Coucnil Banner Image

Opportunities for local business to be highlighted at Ploughing

Opportunities for local business to be highlighted at Ploughing

Back to List

Opportunities for local business to be highlighted at Ploughing

The National Ploughing Championships, taking place from September 20th to 22nd, have become Europe’s largest outdoor event with 281,000 visitors last year. To help small businesses and start-ups make an impact on the rural economy, Local Enterprise Offices (LEOs) in the Local Authorities network are introducing a new product launch and demonstration area within the Local Enterprise Village for 2016.

The entrepreneurs inside the Local Enterprise Village operate within a wide range of business categories, across food, drink, skincare, children’s toys, books, jewellery, fashion and giftware. Services for the agri-sector are also represented, such as soil, milk and water testing, manufacturing of sprayer attachments and genetic identification services.

The South Dublin County representatives are Sadhbh Kurzawska of www.primaryschools.ie and John Price of Greenvalu (www.greenvalu.ie). Primaryschools.ie is Ireland's first central application system for primary schools, allowing parents to apply to any registered school from one site. For the health conscious, GreenValu is all about juicing the affordable way and achieving maximum health benefits with their easy to clean Greenvalu masticating juicer.

Speaking about this event, The Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Mary Mitchell O’ Connor T.D. said: “The National Ploughing Championships is a wonderful event which attracted 281,000 visitors last year and it continues to grow in scale and importance, especially for small businesses looking to launch new products and services to a mass audience. The Local Enterprise Village is another important initiative from the Local Enterprise Offices in partnership with local authorities, as it enables small businesses to grow sales and expand, creating more jobs across every county. Creating jobs across the country is a key priority for me as only a strong economy supporting people at work can pay for the services needed to create a fair society.”

Colm Ward with Local Enterprise Office South Dublin said: “There are lots of growth opportunities in the economy generally, for both business-to-consumer and business-to-business companies. For example, small businesses inside the Local Enterprise Village generated sales and orders worth nearly €645,000 last year. Following in the footsteps of the 50 businesses in the Local Enterprise Village that were either founded or co-founded by women, we’re encouraging more aspiring female entrepreneurs here locally to start their own business in this sector and to seek out the supports that are available to them through the Local Enterprise Office.”

The Managing Director of the National Ploughing Association, Anna May McHugh said: “There is an unprecedented number of diverse and exciting businesses exhibiting at the Local Enterprise Village, at this year’s National Ploughing Championships, and it is highly encouraging to see that so many of these companies were founded by inspirational women.  This is a unique opportunity for these small businesses to showcase their products to the large number of visitors that Ploughing attracts.”

More details around the Local Enterprise Village are available through www.localenterprise.ie and by searching #localenterprise on social media. The 85th Annual National Ploughing Championships run over three days, from September 20th to 22nd in Tullamore, Co. Offaly and tickets are on sale through www.npa.ie

ENDS

For all media information, please contact your Local Enterprise Office.

Notes to Editor:

List of all small businesses taking part in Local Enterprise Village 2016 (September 20th – 22nd 2016)

Supported by Local Enterprise Offices in the local authorities network

Carlow: Tumbledown Media www.freddybuttons.com

Carlow: IAS Laboratories www.iaslabs.ie

Cavan: Scotts Irish Cider www.scottsirishcider.com

Cavan: Stop & Stare Designs Co          www.stopandstare.com

Clare: Fun Affordable Gifts www.funaffordablegifts.com

Clare: Western Herd Brewing Co www.westernherd.com

Cork City: Rebel Chilli www.rebelchilli.com

Cork City: Elbow Lane Brew House www.elbowlane.ie

Cork North and West: Ocean Bloom www.oceanbloom.ie

Cork North and West: Chart Datum www.chartdatum.ie

Cork South: Barbara Hall Creations www.barbarahallcreations.ie

Cork South: Lifekitchen.ie www.lifekitchen.ie

Donegal: North Atlantic Seaweed Products www.salviesea.ie

Donegal: Lanky Yanky Studio     

Dublin City: Delish Melish www.delishmelish.com

Fingal: Periwinkle Design   

Fingal: Giftcentre www.giftcentre.ie

Fingal: 65 Hurlswww.65hurls.com

Fingal: Celtic Gent www.celticgent.com

Dublin South: Greenvalu www.greenvalu.ie

Dublin South: Sadhbh Kurzawska Kwww.primaryschools.ie  

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown: Dalkey Handmade Soaps www.dalkeyhandmadesoaps.ie

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown: Melanie Hand Designer Jewellery www.melaniehand.com

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown: The Irish Workshop/ TIW Ltd          www.theirishworkshop.com

Galway: Collerans Butchers        

Galway: The Galway Food Company www.thegalwayfoodcompany.com

Galway: Green Earth Organics   

Galway: Sabanero Artisan Cheese www.sabanerocheese.com

Kerry: Kerry Signature Furniture  www.kerrysignaturefurniture.ie

Kerry: Taste Kerry www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: O'Donnell`s Bakery www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Skellig Pantry (Smoked Trout) www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Lorge Chocolatier www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Rolf's Fine Food        www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Camo`s Bistro www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Oilean Chocolates (Chocolate Pops) www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Killarney Toffee         www.tastekerry.ie

Kerry: Ring of Kerry Apple Farm (Apple Juice)       www.tastekerry.ie

Kildare: HACI Ltd, Hose & Coupling Ireland www.hcirl.com

Kildare: Nadicom www.geneticdetection.ie

Kilkenny: #tastekilkenny Stand   

Kilkenny: Mooncoin Homegrown Beetroot www.tastekilkenny.ie

Kilkenny: Bernie's Farmhouse Desserts       www.tastekilkenny.ie

Kilkenny: Goatsbridge Trout Farm        www.tastekilkenny.ie

Kilkenny: Highbank Orchards                www.tastekilkenny.ie

Kilkenny: Kilkenny Rosé Veal               www.tastekilkenny.ie

Kilkenny: Shellumsrath Free Range        www.tastekilkenny.ie

Laois: Flavour Safari 

Laois: Rose & Alice Handcrafted Soaps        www.roseandalice.com

Leitrim: Chef Sham Sauces www.cottagerestaurant.ie

Leitrim: Artwood www.artwood.ie

Limerick: McAdare www.mcadare.ie

Limerick: Lubdub Foods www.lubdubfoods.com

Longford: Kaber Performance www.kaberperformance.com

Longford: Go Oats    

Louth: Duinn Designs www.duinndesigns.com

Louth: Finca Skin Organics www.rosacea.ie

Mayo: Cuinneog Artisan Dairy www.cuinneog.com

Mayo: Monaghan Bros Bar Furniture Manufacturers   www.barfurniture.net

Meath: E. Finnegan & Sons www.finnegansfarm.ie

Meath: Cara Mara Seaweed www.caramara.ie

Monaghan: Pollock's Pickles & Preserves www.pollockspickles.com

Monaghan: Shanks Engineering Ltd - Farmhitch   www.farmhitch.com

Offaly: De Mad Food Company   www.demadfoodco.com

Offaly: Deanery Furniture www.deaneryfurniture.com

Roscommon: Projects 5 creations www.beltlock.ie

Roscommon: Derrycashel Crafts         www.woodenclocksroscommon.ie

Sligo: Clo's Chocolates       www.closchocolates.ie

Sligo: SUIP Manufacturing www.suipco.ie

Tipperary: Emerald Oils      www.emeraldoils.ie

Tipperary: Tactile Text       

Tipperary: Premium Fire Products       

Waterford: Embermats        www.embermats.com

Waterford: The Tipperary Kitchen        

Waterford: Coffee House Lane   www.coffeewarehouse.ie

Westmeath: DBee Press   

Westmeath: SoulSnacks www.soulsnacks.ie

Wexford: Wexford Food Family   www.wexfordfoodfamily.com

Wexford: Naturally Cordial www.wexfordfoodfamily.com

Wexford: Wexford Home Preserves www.wexfordfoodfamily.com

Wexford: O’ Neills Dry Cure Bacon www.wexfordfoodfamily.com

Wicklow: Pacefeeder www.pacefeeder.ie

Wicklow: Toby Wagons      www.tobywagons.com

Image 1 Left to Right : Sadhbh Kurzawska ;Leo Representative; John Price of Greenvalu

Images

  • Image 1
    Image 1

A-Z of All Services