Coucnil Banner Image

Public Consultation on Countywide Speed Limit Review 2016

Public Consultation on Countywide Speed Limit Review 2016

Back to List


Archived item. This item is published here for historical reasons. The information below may be out of date.

Public Consultation on Countywide Speed Limit Review 2016

South Dublin County Council proposes to reduce speed limits in residential areas throughout the County from 50 km/h to 30 km/h and seeks the views of the public on this and on the review generally of current speed limits on roads in the County.

The bye-laws setting out the proposals are prepared in accordance with the “Guidelines for Setting and Managing Speed Limits in Ireland” issued by the Department of Transport Tourism and Sport in March 2015. The Department in this document requested that all local authorities commence a comprehensive review and update of all speed limits in their administrative area in accordance with the guidelines and have it fully completed and implemented through bye-laws, where required, by the end of April 2017.

The guidelines allow for and encourage the introduction of a 30kph speed limit in certain areas such as local residential and housing estate roads and notably the Council proposes to take the significant step of reducing speed limits in residential estates throughout the County to 30km/h under proposed new byelaws prepared by the Council’s traffic department.

The proposed 30km/h limit will be implemented through slow zone signage which it is intended will be provided at the entrance points to residential and school areas across South County Dublin. “Slow Zones” will be created which will be indicated by the provision of “Slow Zone” signs. 

The objective of this approach is to improve safety for pedestrians and cyclists, older people and children, and is in keeping with the Councils recently launched Road Safety Plan 2016-2020. 

Draft Bye Laws and accompanying maps have been prepared and will be available for inspection at the following locations during normal office hours from Tuesday 27th September, 2016 to Tuesday 1st November, 2016 inclusive:-

  • Customer Service Area, South Dublin County Council, County Hall, Town Centre, Tallaght, Dublin 24.
  • South Dublin County Council, Clondalkin Civic Centre, Clondalkin, Dublin 22.
  • County Library, County Hall, Town Centre, Tallaght, Dublin 24.
  • Ballyroan Library, Orchardstown Avenue, Rathfarnham, Dublin 16.
  • Lucan Library, Superquinn Shopping Centre, Newcastle, Lucan, Co. Dublin.
  • John Jennings Library, Stewarts Hospital, Palmerstown, Dublin 20.
  • Castletymon Library, Castletymon Shopping Centre, Tymon North Road, Tallaght, Dublin 24.
  • Clondalkin Library, Monastery Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22.

Alternatively, they are also available for viewing on South Dublin County Council’s Public Consultation Portal website Submissions may be made online on or before 1st November 2016.

Submissions can also be made on or before 1st November 2016 in writing to Laura Leonard, Senior Executive Officer, Land Use Planning & Transportation Department, South Dublin County Council, County Hall, Town Centre, Tallaght, Dublin 24.


Image 1








  • Image 1 30km Speed sign
    Image 1 30km Speed sign
  • Image of Slow Zone
    Image of Slow Zone

A-Z of All Services