Coucnil Banner Image

Launch of Summer Stars Reading Programme

Launch of Summer Stars Reading Programme

Back to List

Launch of Summer Stars Reading Programme


When: Tuesday 19th June at 10am

Where: County Library Tallaght

Contact: Margaret Bentley, Senior Executive Librarian

Details: / 01-4597834


The Launch of South Dublin Libraries’ annual Summer Stars Reading Adventure takes place on Tuesday 19th June at 10am at County Library Tallaght.

Summer Stars Reading Adventure is an exciting reading-based programme which is available free of charge to all children across the country.

South Dublin Libraries are delighted to actively participate in this national initiative each year. Last year almost 1,000 children took part, and approximately 50,000 books/audio books were borrowed.

All children across South Dublin County are invited to register for the adventure and enjoy reading many books during the summer months. All participants will be given a Summer Stars Reading Card to record and track their own progress. The children will receive rewards and incentives along the way, and there will be a grand finale event at the end for all participants.

The Summer Stars Reading Adventure provides the whole family with an opportunity during the school summer break to explore the full range of events and facilities at their local library. An exciting programme of events is planned which includes story- time sessions, toddler time sessions, children’s activities including talks and workshops, computer activities, and lots more. As well as access to children’s books, audio books and DVDs for all ages within the library, our website,, has a host of free online resources including access to e-books, audio books and magazines. And there’s no need to worry if you’re heading off on holiday in the Republic of Ireland, because with the new national library card, books can be borrowed and returned to any public library!

For more information about the Summer Stars Reading Adventure or for details about joining the library (which is free of charge), ask at your local library or visit


South Dublin County is one of four local authority areas in the Dublin region.

South Dublin County Council provides and funds a broad range of services including housing, roads, walking and cycling routes, parks and playgrounds, libraries, sports facilities, litter control, arts centres, enterprise units, fire services, community infrastructure and financial supports. It also serves as a platform for local democracy with 40 councillors spread across six electoral areas.

Bounded by the River Liffey to the North and the Dublin Mountains to the South, the County lies 16 kilometres south west of Dublin city centre and has an administrative footprint of 223sq. kilometres. The County has nine main villages Clondalkin, Lucan, Palmerstown, Rathfarnham, Tallaght, Templeogue, Saggart, Rathcoole and Newcastle and is bounded by adjoining counties of Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin City, Fingal and Dun Laoghaire.



  • Summer Stars Reading Programme 2018
    Summer Stars Reading Programme 2018

A-Z of All Services