Coucnil Banner Image

Launch of South Dublin Library Development Plan 2018 - 2022

Launch of South Dublin Library Development Plan 2018 - 2022

Back to List

When: Tuesday 26th June

Time: 11am

Where: County Library Tallaght

Contact: Margaret Bentley,  / 01-4597834

South Dublin Libraries are delighted to present “Open to You”, our five year Library Development Plan 2018 – 2022.

The mission statement of South Dublin Libraries aspires to “enrich the quality of life in South Dublin County by promoting access to a broad range of knowledge, information, technology, culture and heritage, in a welcoming, inclusive and supportive way”. This Library Development Plan is a road map to support this mission statement and the strategic development of the South Dublin library service over the next five years. 

The Plan has been informed by an extensive consultation process and builds on existing strengths and the demographic profile of the communities we serve.

Six key areas for development over the next five years have been identified: reading and literacy, including digital literacy; marketing and promotion; information and communication technology (ICT); heritage and tourism; information and lifelong learning; and community and culture.

Over the next five years South Dublin Libraries is committed to continuing participation in the national initiatives rolled out across all public libraries nationwide. These include Right to Read supporting literacy, Work Matters supporting business and employment, and Healthy Ireland promoting health awareness amongst the population of South Dublin County.

Two state of the art community libraries will open during the lifetime of this Plan. The leased library building at Castletymon Shopping Centre will be replaced by a new, purpose-built library in a central location. The community of North Clondalkin will be served for the first time by a modern, purpose-built library in the heart of the community. These exciting building projects are a highlight of the five-year programme.

“Open to You” in its essence represents a library service that is socially inclusive and underpins South Dublin County Council’s core themes of collaboration, well-being and citizen engagement.


South Dublin County is one of four local authority areas in the Dublin region.

South Dublin County Council provides and funds a broad range of services including housing, roads, walking and cycling routes, parks and playgrounds, libraries, sports facilities, litter control, arts centres, enterprise units, fire services, community infrastructure and financial supports. It also serves as a platform for local democracy with 40 councillors spread across six electoral areas.

Bounded by the River Liffey to the North and the Dublin Mountains to the South, the County lies 16 kilometres south west of Dublin city centre and has an administrative footprint of 223sq. kilometres. The County has nine main villages Clondalkin, Lucan, Palmerstown, Rathfarnham, Tallaght, Templeogue, Saggart, Rathcoole and Newcastle and is bounded by adjoining counties of Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin City, Fingal and Dun Laoghaire.



  • Infographic 2017
    Infographic 2017
  • Library Development Plan Cover
    Library Development Plan Cover

A-Z of All Services