Coucnil Banner Image

Tallaght Stadium to host UEFA Under-17 European Championships Final in May.

Tallaght Stadium to host UEFA Under-17 European Championships Final in May.

Back to List

Tallaght Stadium to host UEFA Under-17 European Championships Final in May.

Ireland will play two of their group games at local stadium

Tallaght Stadium is one of seven stadiums across the country to host games during the UEFA Under-17 European Championships, and will host the final on 19 May, 2019.

Tallaght Stadium, which is owned and operated by South Dublin County Council, was chosen along with Tolka Park, UCD Bowl, and Whitehall Stadium in Dublin, and the Carlisle Grounds in Bray, City Calling Stadium in Longford and the RSC in Waterford to host games during this international competition as they all fall within the UEFA-stipulated travel radius from the tournament team hotel, at CityWest in South Dublin County.

Nicola Coffey, Tallaght Stadium Manager, said: "As manager of Tallaght Stadium, I am delighted that our venue has been chosen to host the final of the UEFA European Under-17 Championships. It is a great honour for the venue to host such a prestigious event and I've no doubt both the teams and their travelling support will receive a warm welcome in South Dublin."

Colin O'Brien's Republic of Ireland team - who qualify automatically as host nation - will play two of their group games in Tallaght and one in Waterford's RSC.

The group draw will be made in Dublin on 4 April. Tallaght Stadium, which was opened in 2009, now has a capacity of 8,000 following the opening of a new third stand and will host the final on Sunday, 19 May.

The tournament, which kicks off on 3 May, will be played across four counties in seven different venues with 16 teams involved.



For further information, contact South Dublin County Council’s Communications Unit at (01) 414 9000 or




About South Dublin County Council

South Dublin County Council is one of four local authority areas in the Dublin region.

The Council provides and funds a broad range of services including housing, roads, walking and cycling routes, parks and playgrounds, libraries, sports facilities, litter control, arts centres, enterprise units, fire services, community infrastructure and financial supports. It also serves as a platform for local democracy with 40 councillors spread across six electoral areas.

Bounded by the River Liffey to the North and the Dublin Mountains to the South, the County lies 16 kilometres south west of Dublin city centre and has an administrative footprint of 223sq. kilometres. The County has nine main villages Clondalkin, Lucan, Palmerstown, Rathfarnham, Tallaght, Templeogue, Saggart, Rathcoole and Newcastle and is bounded by adjoining counties of Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin City, Fingal and Dún Laoghaire.


A-Z of All Services