Coucnil Banner Image

South Dublin County Council shows its Pride as Mayor Ed O'Brien raises flag at Tallaght Stadium

South Dublin County Council shows its Pride as Mayor Ed O'Brien raises flag at Tallaght Stadium

Back to List


Archived item. This item is published here for historical reasons. The information below may be out of date.

Cllr Ed O’Brien, Mayor of South Dublin County, has raised the Pride flag over Tallaght Stadium to mark Dublin Pride 2021.

During Dublin Pride 2021, South Dublin County Council civic buildings and Tallaght Stadium are flying the new, inclusive Pride flag which is the original six stripe design with the addition of colours to represent Trans, Bi, Poly, Ace, Progress, Pan, and Intersex communities.

The Council is flying this new inclusive Pride flag as a symbol of the Council’s commitment to the equality and inclusion of all the people of our wonderfully diverse and vibrant County. We do this to show our support, and respect, to LGBTQ+ members of our staff, County, and wider society.

South Dublin County Council has demonstrated a strong and ongoing commitment to LGBTQ+ equality and the LGBTQ+ community through a variety of actions. In addition to flying the Pride flag:

  • The Transgender Pride flag is flown on 31 March for International Transgender Day of Visibility.
  • Council policies, plans and staff forms are equality proofed on an ongoing basis.
  • The South Dublin County Council LGBTQ+ Staff Network was founded in October 2017 and anyone who identifies on the LGBTQ+ spectrum who is directly employed by the Council, or who is a retired or former employee is welcome to join. Membership is free of charge.


Mayor O’Brien said, “I’m delighted to be joined by my fellow councillors and members of the LGBTQI community to raise the Pride flag here at Tallaght Stadium. It’s the first occasion on which the Pride Flag has been flown in Tallaght outside of the South Dublin County Council’s offices. So it is a really proud day for the LGBTQI community and for South Dublin County Council. I’m delighted to be bookending my year as Mayor by acknowledging the part that the LGBTQI community play in South Dublin. “




Image 1: Cllr Ed O'Brien Mayor of South Dublin, holds the Pride flag at Tallaght Stadium with support from local SDCC councillors and members of the South Dublin LGBT+ Network.
Image 2: Supporting Pride. Cllr Ed O'Brien Mayor of South Dublin at Tallaght Stadium.
Image 3: Cllr Ed O'Brien Mayor of South Dublin supporting Pride with members of the South Dublin LGBT+ Network.

Media Contact


Notes to Editor

About South Dublin County Council

South Dublin County Council is one of four local authority areas in the Dublin region. The Council provides and funds a broad range of services including housing, roads, walking and cycling routes, parks and playgrounds, libraries, sports facilities, litter control, art centres, enterprise units, fire services, community infrastructure and financial support. It also serves as a platform for local democracy with 40 councillors spread across seven electoral areas.

Bounded by the River Liffey to the North and the Dublin Mountains to the South, the County lies 16 kilometres south-west of Dublin city centre and has an administrative footprint of 223sq. kilometres. The County has nine main villages Clondalkin, Lucan, Palmerstown, Rathfarnham, Tallaght, Templeogue, Saggart, Rathcoole and Newcastle and is bounded by the adjoining counties of Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin City, Fingal, and Dún Laoghaire.


  • Image 1
    Image 1
  • Image 2
    Image 2
  • Image 3
    Image 3

A-Z of All Services