Coucnil Banner Image

South Dublin County Council elects new Mayor and Deputy Mayor

South Dublin County Council elects new Mayor and Deputy Mayor

Back to List


Archived item. This item is published here for historical reasons. The information below may be out of date.

At the Annual Meeting of South Dublin County Council held on Friday 25 June 202 in County Hall, Tallaght, Councillor Peter Kavanagh (Independent) representing the Clondalkin Electoral Area was elected Mayor of South Dublin County. Councillor Peter Kavanagh was proposed for Mayor by Councillor Liam Sinclair (An Rabharta Glas – Green Left) and was seconded by Councillor Shane Moynihan (Fianna Fáil). Following a roll call vote Councillor Kavanagh was deemed elected to the Office of Mayor.


Tributes were paid to the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Ed O’Brien (Fianna Fáil) and Deputy Mayor, Councillor David McManus (Fine Gael), who thanked their fellow Councillors, Chief Executive, Daniel McLoughlin and the management and staff of the Council for their help and support during their term in office.


Councillor Laura Donaghy (Green Party) representing the Rathfarnham -Templeogue Electoral Area was elected Deputy Mayor. Councillor Donaghy was proposed as Deputy Mayor by Councillor Suzanne McEneaney (Green Party) and seconded by Councillor David McManus (Fine Gael).


The following councillors were elected as Chairs of the Area Committees:

Councillor Francis Timmons (Independent) was elected chair of the Clondalkin Area Committee.

Councillor Joanna Tuffy (Labour) was elected chair of the Lucan / Palmerstown / North Clondalkin Area Committee.

Councillor Alan Edge (Independent) was elected chair of the Rathfarnham / Templeogue / Firhouse / Bohernabreena Area Committee.

Councillor Teresa Costello (Fianna Fáil) was elected chair of the Tallaght Area Committee.


Mayor Kavanagh thanked his fellow elected members for their support in his acceptance speech and pledged to work towards an inclusive South Dublin County that is welcoming for everyone.


Mayor Kavanagh concluded his speech by dedicating himself to the Irish language and culture.




For more information please contact

Photograph 1: Mayor of South Dublin County Council, Cllr Peter Kavanagh and

Deputy Mayor of South Dublin County Council, Cllr Laura Donaghy

About South Dublin County Council


South Dublin County Council is one of four local authority areas in the Dublin region.



The Council provides and funds a broad range of services including housing, roads, walking and cycling routes, parks and playgrounds, libraries, sports facilities, litter control, arts centres, enterprise units, fire services, community infrastructure and financial support. It also serves as a platform for local democracy with 40 councillors spread across seven electoral areas.

Bounded by the River Liffey to the North and the Dublin Mountains to the South, the County lies 16 kilometres south-west of Dublin city centre and has an administrative footprint of 223sq. kilometres.


The County has nine main villages Clondalkin, Lucan, Palmerstown, Rathfarnham, Tallaght, Templeogue, Saggart, Rathcoole and Newcastle and is bounded by adjoining counties of Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin City, Fingal and Dún Laoghaire.



  • Image 1
    Image 1

A-Z of All Services