Coucnil Banner Image

Recipients of Bursary Award Announced

Recipients of Bursary Award Announced

Back to List


Archived item. This item is published here for historical reasons. The information below may be out of date.

South Dublin County Council, is delighted to announce the inaugural recipients of the Artist Resilience Bursary Awards. The Awards will support one individual professional artist from each of the seven Local Electoral Areas to produce a new artwork in their area before the end of 2021.

The Artist Resilience Bursary is an initiative of the Council’s elected representatives which came about in response to the severe impact of the Covid 19 conditions on professional artists in the County.  It was administered by the Arts Office in conjunction with the Council’s Strategic Policy Committee for Arts, Culture, Gaeilge, Heritage and Libraries. 

The Bursary award of €5,500 to each of the seven artists will fund a range of projects such as sound installations, photographic and fine art exhibitions, film production and to record and produce new music.

Commenting on the programme, Mayor Peter Kavanagh said, "I am delighted to see this fund distributed. It is a key priority for me and my colleagues in to support the arts and funding artists working in our communities is a tangible and necessary way to do that. I'm excited by the broad range of subjects these projects cover, from Traveller and LGBTQ+ inclusion to our shared heritage and music, and I look forward to sharing in the enjoyment and appreciation of these pieces of work across South Dublin."

Congratulations to the awarded artists, we wish you a very fruitful year: Miriam Kaczor, Salvatore Fulham, John Caffrey, Robert Coleman, Tania Notaro, Jekatarina Saveljeva, Martha Knight.

A-Z of All Services