South Dublin County Council


Social Inclusion: Art/Writing Competition - 'Count Me In'.

Back to Search Results

Archived on 14/12/2017

Social Inclusion Week: Art/Writing Competition

Social Inclusion Week 20 November to 27 November 2017

Theme: Count me In

Tuesday 21 November


On Tuesday 21 November in the Council Chamber, County Hall, Tallaght, Mayor of South Dublin County Council, Cllr Paul Gogarty will announce the winners of the Art/Writing Competition on “Count me In”. Ms. Sophie Spence star of the Irish Ladies Rugby Team will present the prizes.


There was over 700 entries received for the competition. This competition provided the children with the opportunity to develop their learning experiences by showing their creativity through language and art. The children were asked to draw a picture of something that they would like to do with their family or friends; or write a short story or poem on something that they would like to do with their family or friends. In an age of technology it is wonderful that they get to use their artistic skills whenever possible.


Here in South Dublin County we want to develop an inclusive county where every child has the opportunity to participate and reach their true potential.


Contact: Maria Finn, Social Inclusion Officer, Community Services Department

Tel: 086 3803060



South Dublin County is one of four local authority areas in the Dublin region.

South Dublin County Council provides and funds a broad range of services including housing, roads, walking and cycling routes, parks and playgrounds, libraries, sports facilities, litter control, arts centres, enterprise units, fire services, community infrastructure and financial supports. It also serves as a platform for local democracy with 40 councillors spread across six electoral areas.

Bounded by the River Liffey to the North and the Dublin Mountains to the South, the County lies 16 kilometres south west of Dublin city centre and has an administrative footprint of 223sq. kilometres. The County has 9 main villages Clondalkin, Lucan, Palmerstown, Rathfarnham, Tallaght, Templeogue, Saggart, Rathcoole and Newcastle and is bounded by adjoining counties of Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin City, Fingal and Dun Laoghaire.

Maps, Drawings and other Documents Available