South Dublin County Council


South Dublin Towns Recognised at Enterprising Towns Awards

Back to Search Results

Archived on 23/12/2017

South Dublin Towns Recognised at Enterprising Towns Awards

The initiative and efforts shown by a range of local businesses, community groups and enterprise support agencies in both Rathcoole and Tallaght were recognised at a national awards ceremony last week.

Bank of Ireland’s National Enterprising Town Awards aims to assist in the promotion of enterprise across the country by bringing business and community groups together to showcase to a panel of judges, the spirit of enterprise in their local area.  Judges visited Tallaght and Rathcoole on 4th October and were obviously impressed by the nature of the collaboration and innovation in both towns.

At the awards ceremony in the Tullamore Court Hotel on the evening of 15th November, Rathcoole won the Most Enterprising Town in Dublin for the 3,001 – 7,000 population category with Rathcoole Community Council taking home a crystal trophy and €3,000 in funding for the village with Dick Butler from Rathcoole Community Centre accepting the prize on behalf of the village with Cllr. Emer Higgins, Paul Campbell from Family Separation Services in Rathcoole and Joanne Kelly from Bank of Ireland all representing the village at the event as well. 

Meanwhile, Tallaght was awarded 1st runner-up in the 7,000 plus population category for the Dublin Region with the Social & Local Alliance receiving €2,000 in funding.  John Kearns from Social & Local Alliance and Partas in Tallaght Village accepted the prize on behalf of Tallaght.

Both the Rathcoole and Tallaght applications were supported and co-ordinated by Local Enterprise Office (LEO) South Dublin  and Colm Ward, Head of Enterprise, with Local Enterprise Office South Dublin, said:

“These awards recognise the fabulous spirit and initiative in both Rathcoole and Tallaght.  The judges were genuinely impressed with the stories and initiatives that they heard from local businesses and community representatives when they visited both places.  For both entrants from South Dublin to achieve this recognition is both rewarding for their hard work to date and very inspiring for the future of local enterprises in the County.”


Please find some attached photos.

 1. Dick Butler, Rathcoole Community Council, accepts the award for Most Enterprising Town in Dublin with a population of 3,001 to 7,000 on behalf of Rathcoole.

2.  Cllr. Emer Higgins, Joanne Kelly (Bank of Ireland Rathcoole) & Colm Ward (Local Enterprise Office South Dublin) celebrating the announcement of Rathcoole as winner of Most Enterprising Town in Dublin with a population of 3,001 to 7,000.

3.  Rathcoole, Winners of Most Enterprising Town in Dublin with a population of 3,001 to 7,000: Colm Ward (LEO South Dublin), Joanne Kelly (Bank of Ireland Rathcoole), Dick Butler (Rathcoole Community Council), Cllr. Emer Higgins, Paul Campbell (Family Separation Services in Rathcoole Village) & Neil O’Reilly (Bank of Ireland)

4.  Tallaght, 1st runner-up in the 7,000 plus population category for the Dublin Region: Colm Ward & Amanda Mills (LEO South Dublin), John Kearns (Social & Local Alliance / Partas) & Neil O’Reilly (Bank of Ireland)


South Dublin County is one of four local authority areas in the Dublin region.

South Dublin County Council provides and funds a broad range of services including housing, roads, walking and cycling routes, parks and playgrounds, libraries, sports facilities, litter control, arts centres, enterprise units, fire services, community infrastructure and financial supports. It also serves as a platform for local democracy with 40 councillors spread across six electoral areas.

Bounded by the River Liffey to the North and the Dublin Mountains to the South, the County lies 16 kilometres south west of Dublin city centre and has an administrative footprint of 223sq. kilometres. The County has 9 main villages Clondalkin, Lucan, Palmerstown, Rathfarnham, Tallaght, Templeogue, Saggart, Rathcoole and Newcastle and is bounded by adjoining counties of Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin City, Fingal and Dun Laoghaire.

Maps, Drawings and other Documents Available