South Dublin County Council


South Dublin Winners in the IPB Pride of Place Awards 2017

Back to Search Results

Archived on 04/01/2018

South Dublin Winners in the IPB Pride of Place Awards 2017

The winners of the 15th annual IPB Pride of Place Awards in association with Co-operation Ireland were announced on Saturday 2nd December at a Gala Awards Ceremony in the Mount Errigal Hotel in Letterkenny, Co. Donegal.

Pride of Place is an all-Island competition that acknowledges the high quality work that communities are doing all over the Island of Ireland. Each year Local Authorities from across Ireland have the opportunity to nominate up to a maximum of five groups in their area, who they believe have made an outstanding contribution to supporting and strengthening their local community.

In 2017, South Dublin County Council nominated Community Groups in five of the Award categories, with all nominated projects putting in a fantastic effort and impressing the Judges when they visited the County in July:

Category 1 - Population Size: 0-300

Brittas and District Residents Association / Brittas Community                                                       

Category 2 -  Population Size: 300-1000

Glenasmole Community Association / Glenasmole Community                                                              

Category 6 - Community Based Youth Initiative

Fettercairn Youth Horse Project                                                                                

Category 7 - Creative Place Initiative

Tallaght Community Arts                                                                                               

Category 11 -  Urban Neighbourhoods

Ballyroan Community and Youth Centre / Ballyroan Community                      

All the effort paid off and it was met with great delight that two of the South Dublin Community Projects had won awards with Tallaght Community Arts picking up a Runner Up Award in the Category 7: Creative Place Initiative and Ballyroan Community and Youth Centre / Ballyroan Community picking up a Runner Up Award in Category 11: Urban Neighbourhoods.

South Dublin County Council would like to thank and congratulate all five community projects that represented the County in this year’s competition, their efforts and achievements have made both their local communities and the entire County proud.




South Dublin County is one of four local authority areas in the Dublin region.

South Dublin County Council provides and funds a broad range of services including housing, roads, walking and cycling routes, parks and playgrounds, libraries, sports facilities, litter control, arts centres, enterprise units, fire services, community infrastructure and financial supports. It also serves as a platform for local democracy with 40 councillors spread across six electoral areas.

Bounded by the River Liffey to the North and the Dublin Mountains to the South, the County lies 16 kilometres south west of Dublin city centre and has an administrative footprint of 223sq. kilometres. The County has nine main villages Clondalkin, Lucan, Palmerstown, Rathfarnham, Tallaght, Templeogue, Saggart, Rathcoole and Newcastle and is bounded by adjoining counties of Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin City, Fingal and Dun Laoghaire.



Image 1 – Tallaght Community Arts

Image 2 – Ballyroan Community and Youth Centre


Maps, Drawings and other Documents Available