South Dublin County Council


Safety warning for riders of quads and scramblers

Back to Search Results

Archived on 03/02/2018

Safety warning for riders of quads and scramblers

South Dublin County Council is warning people about the dangers of using scramblers and quads without wearing the proper head gear and protective equipment. The warning comes following reports of two incidents, one of which was a head-on collision with a jeep in which the driver of the quad was lucky to escape life changing injuries.

While some people may have received a quad or a scrambler for Christmas, parents and users are urged to be aware of the risks and dangers associated with riding these vehicles and also to wear the appropriate safety gear.

Declan Keogh, Road Safety Officer, South Dublin County Council said “What many people don’t realise is the potential danger or risks which riders are faced with while using scramblers and quads. They are in fact vehicles which are designed for off-road use and should be used in a controlled environment but not only that, an operator of a quad or scrambler is also required to follow the same rules of the road as other vehicle users.”

The Road Safety Officer has begun an advertising awareness campaign to highlight the dangers of using these vehicles and to appeal to parents and riders themselves to use their quads or scramblers with safety in mind while having respect for their communities. The awareness campaign will involve advertising in cinemas, on social media, in local press, shopping centres and community centres.

You can view the safety awareness video at .



Image 1 - Declan Keogh, Road Safety Officer, South Dublin County Council

Image 2 - Quad and Scrambler Safety information advert

South Dublin County is one of four local authority areas in the Dublin region.

South Dublin County Council provides and funds a broad range of services including housing, roads, walking and cycling routes, parks and playgrounds, libraries, sports facilities, litter control, arts centres, enterprise units, fire services, community infrastructure and financial supports. It also serves as a platform for local democracy with 40 councillors spread across six electoral areas.

Bounded by the River Liffey to the North and the Dublin Mountains to the South, the County lies 16 kilometres south west of Dublin city centre and has an administrative footprint of 223sq. kilometres. The County has nine main villages Clondalkin, Lucan, Palmerstown, Rathfarnham, Tallaght, Templeogue, Saggart, Rathcoole and Newcastle and is bounded by adjoining counties of Wicklow, Kildare, Dublin City, Fingal and Dun Laoghaire.



Maps, Drawings and other Documents Available